Employee rights for students and pupils.

Self-evaluation

All these thoughts I had earlier, openly brought out, attempt to enlighten my situation personally and professionaly up to now, examining my choices over the years leading to my current position. I thrive in proding the origin of my thoughts and revel in explaining the reason behind actions, mine as well as of other individuals. Beyond this introduction I should try to point out these for which I am refering to. As is the beggining of the school season, and as I, apparently reluctantly, feel as I am dragged to participate in the toils of my profession, I long towards occuping myself to stimulating tasks, thought provoking, imaginative, creative. Which, as a result, would further my knowledge, enrich my experiences, broaden my horizons, open my outlook. As, it has been the case, year after year, it is at that time the accepted norms of financial stability is at odds with my pursuits of personal advancement, as I see them. My intelectual endeavours do not coincide with the professional opportunities presented to me. That puts in, a dilemma, and a feeling of guilt. It makes me feel that I am taking advantage of the situation in education and I do not participate wholeheartedly in the teacher execution duties. My thoughts developed out my experience in schools, combined with my knoweldge for the role of education in society (the place currently occupies and the potential it has and can achieve under different circumstances), and my knowledge of the learning process, cognition, worldview are not put in good use. Lurk in the background unwilling to surface. When the toil starts are almost forgotten, disused, sidetracked.

      Over the years, the idea of treating education in pragmatical terms, went as far as proposing that the position of the educatee should be elevated to the same status as an employee, entitled of financial compensation. Education will realise its true potential as their participants, pupils and students, will see their efforts directly recognised by society, instead of vague assurances about future distant gains for their labour. Their gains will be immediate and their participation direct in its disemination by the teachers, and other technological means our current epoch can offer. Their teachers will acquire their natural, and only role, of responding to their queries, advise and guide, being sought after and not the knowledge enforcers of unwanted products to unwilling clients. All the funds that are currently used for education should be re-allocated, redesigned to include financial compensation for its potentially active (en potentia) participants, and if need be, allocate more funds from other sources of communal expenditure, which I envisage there will be a surplus, or even the private sector, sponsor, as it will gain from such an endeavour, in dedicated personnel recruitment.

      Such financial compensation should be organised in its administation primarily by persons belonging in the teaching profession, as its main goal it should be knowledge acquisition and promotion of learning. Though, there should be standard compensation, for all pupils and students, it should go further in compensating for individual achievements, categorised via tests, exams and personal contribution in knowledge structure. This best can be achieved away from the rigid school structure, prevailing today, but in favour of a flexible structure which will allow the individual to pursue unhindered, away from distracting, unwielding, shallow competition with fellow educatees. Competition, nowadays, as it is prevailing in school classes, disorientates the student, addresses debased ideals, brings about conflicting feelings of disheartenment, condescesion and arrogance, disdain, contempt. Each individual pupil has its particular potential and should be given ample opportunities to discover and develop further the abilities possessed, unhindered by external influences. Each individual should apportion respect and gain the respect of others, in its full unadulterated extent of its concept     

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment